Memories of 24 Truro Road

By Catherine Soh

My parents shifted our family to this house in 1946. My three younger siblings were all born and raised in this house. Though it looked old then, it still remains standing bravely along Truro Road. Many of the old houses in this quiet area have made way for private apartments but this old house is still awaiting its fate…

old truro road
Old truro road

new truro road

New truro road

The house was leased to my mother in 1946. Prior to our occupation, I was told that it used to process coconut oil. The Japanese also occupied it for a period of time. My guess is that the house could be at least 80 years old.
The rent we paid every month then was about $29. As my father was a contractor, he made sure the house was safe. He added an attic with 2 bed rooms to the building and he expanded the back and sides of the building with 5 more rooms and a garage. We lived in one room and the attic, while the rest of the rooms were rented out to help pay our daily expenses.

Dad took a bad turn in his construction business in 1962 and the loan sharks hounded Dad who had to hide from them. So my mother had to support our family. My illiterate mother, Mdm Teo, bought a second hand Morris to ferry students to schools. She was quite a woman, strong and determined.

Mrs Teo talking to PM Goh
My mom talking to ex-PM Goh Chok Tong

I did not do very well in school. I did my secondary education in 6 years instead of four. Eventually I found a job in teaching at a Chinese rural school in Paya Lebar. It was fortunate then that I “woke up” and realized that I had wasted a great part of my teens wallowing. I sailed through my three years in college and developed a responsible attitude to care for others. In 1964, I joined Balestier Hill Primary School. I loved my work, my students and my scouts. To this day, I can proudly say that I had been a good teacher and friend to my students.

img-140530095520-001
Scouts Kallang 1525 Cheetah group from Kebun Bahru School; kelong at Batam

img-140530100921-001

img-140530100409-001
Teachers of balestier hill primary on Children’s day

img-140530101430-001
Famous Chinese Tutor, Chen Lao Shi’s house at Truro Road

Life was hard back then but we made a lot of good friends in the kampong. We climbed trees, caught spiders and played music. The Malay settlement along Truro Road blended very well with the kampong folks. The old cane factory provided jobs for the people around there. We were poor but contented. Music and football were huge in the Farrer Park Neighbourhood. We had the popular “Experiment”, “Cumberland Trio” and “Los Pintos” that inspired my younger brother, Richard Sng, to become a respected musician. Football made a strong mark on the youths with Mr Choo Seng Quee and Mr Dollah Kassim. Things like these kept our youths healthy physically as well as mentally.

img-140530100953-001
Corner of Hertford/Carlise Road

img-140530102012-001
Glass Factory at Hertford Road

We also experienced floods, endured the Racial Riots and lived on in 24 Truro Road until 2004. My three brothers were married while we were living there. All 5 grandchildren were born and raised in this grand old house. My father had a stroke and suffered for ten years in the house. He died in 1972 and the wake was held at 24 Truro Road.

We had tried to buy the house but failed as it was under the Rent Control Act. My mother was very upset when we had to move. She was waiting for some compensation even though we persuaded her to give up on the house. We have many fond memories of the place, so many memorable moments in our lives happened there. This old building had supported us financially so we were also very grateful to it.

Leave a comment